Wife, Working Mom, Writer…a.k.a. Wonder Woman

Posted by: Rebecca.

It feels like ages since I’ve sat down with the intention to just write. The tornado that is sometimes called life has run amuck through our house. What do I mean by that? hmm…

Cue the Wonder Woman transformation spinning

Back to school

I’ve spent the past few weeks with my Wonder Woman suit on, taking multi-tasking to another dimension. Wishing I had an invisible jet, a lasso of truth, and a pair of indestructible bracelets for those bullet dodging days. {And asking the Lord, how other women do all of this.}

First, I’m attempting to finish our school year and get some planning done for fall. {Where has summer gone?} We homeschool our two youngest. Though I sometimes wish I was, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m not a fly by the seat of my pants type of homeschooler. {I like love curriculum and lesson plans.}

The best part…new school supplies. Yes, I live vicariously through my children and their new boxes of crayons, markers, and writing tablets. I think I’m a little OCD too…I enjoy organizing all of our curriculum and binders. {Nerd problems! Sigh.}

DIY

I’ve also been tackling some much needed home improvements. {Watch out when I have a paintbrush or a screwdriver in my hand. There’s no telling what will get fixed…or dismantled.}

And through this, I not only worked, but took care of business stuff, and kept the family fed and in clean clothes.

By the end of the past few weeks, I began wondering what in the world I was thinking taking on so much at one time.

Galations 6:9 says, “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap a harvest, if we do not give up.”

Keep Calm WWI’m thankful I didn’t give into those tired and overwhelming feelings I experienced in the midst of it all. Now I’m enjoying the fruit of my labors. Smooth school days ahead, a house that is starting to come together, and time to write.

I’ll share a favorite Wonder Woman quote. I would only change one part…It’s not for the world at large that I desire to be Wonder Woman, but for the family God has blessed me with. I’m thankful for a loving Heavenly Father who’s shoulders I can always rest upon, and in who’s strength I can do all things.

“Of all people, you know who I am…who the world needs me to be. I’m Wonder Woman.” -Infinite Crisis #1

Your turn to Shed Your Light below…

On those days when your life demands a superhero, what character’s costume do you wear?

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

