Manly Slag

Posted by: Rebecca.

One of the things (and there are many) I love about writing is the interesting research I get to do. My WIP is about a time traveler from the late 1800’s. When I first figured this not so minor detail out about him and the villains who are caught in the time stream with him, my heart sank in my chest leapt for joy at the amount of research I had ahead of me.

I found all the typical historical information, some very interesting, some I already knew. Then, as I wrote a scene in which the vintage villains attack my female protagonist, I knew they wouldn’t talk the way you and I do today. And, in the words of my 5-year-old son, “I asked myself, myself… how would a vintage thug talk?”

I stumbled upon a fizzing blog post. It doesn’t draw the long bow, but it is quite a bit of fun all on one page, and it transformed the dialogue in certain scenes of my books.

Manly Slang from the 19th Century. 🙂

Your turn to Shed Your Light below…

Have you stumbled upon a favorite research site that you’d like to share? {Post your link in the comments.}

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

