Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Posted by: Rebecca.

TFIOSMeet Hazel and Augustus, two teens trying to navigate life, love, and the realities of cancer. While that is a watered down description, and sounds a bit like a “that’s been done before” type of book, I encourage you to give TFIOS a chance.

{I’ll try hard not to give major spoilers.}

I picked up the book knowing only the basics of the story, the main characters were fighting cancer, and I prepared for potential sadness. I was surprised to find I wasn’t depressed when I finished reading. Cancer is the vehicle that moves us through Hazel’s and Augustus’s development, but is not the only subject of this book.

TFIOS is enjoyable and well written. I even laughed and cried at some parts.

(MILD SPOLIER ALERT)  I will be honest that I was frustrated with the author not giving Hazel and Augustus any real hope. Hazel seemed to lack something to believe in or draw comfort from besides Augustus and at times her parents.

I remember my emotions as a teenager, and the desire to create a private world with someone, feelings are powerful, and teenagers are a lot more intelligent than most adults realize. (I’ve been one, raised one, have two kids who will be teens someday, way too soon.)

But as a teenager, I knew there was more to life than my feelings and relationships, and it had nothing to do with “the universe wanting to be noticed” as this book likes to point out.

The other piece that frustrated me was the overuse of metaphors. There are quite a few of them, and though John Green is a strong writer, as a reader I felt the story lost a lot of the emotional impact it could have without the distracting metaphors.

Will this be a book I read over and over again? Probably not, but if you are looking for a summer read, this might be one to check out.

Have you read The Fault in Our Star? What are your thoughts about this book?

Your turn to Shed Your Light below…

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

