Cotton Candy Minutes

Posted by: Rebecca.

Ever have cotton candy minutes? Are you thinking I’m off my rocker, and wondering what the heck I’m talking about?

One evening when our middle daughter was 3, she and my husband were playing. He began saying, “Now just wait a cotton-pickin’ minute.” Our daughter would crack up laughing. Not just a little giggle, but a huge belly laugh, tears and all.

After a few minutes of them thinking this was great fun, I had the unfortunate privilege of reminding my husband that though this was hilarious now, someday, when she repeated the phrase to one of us, it would be naughty and disrespectful.

cotton candyThey settled down, the phrase forgotten. Or was it?

Sure enough the very next day, the hubs was at work, and I was home with our daughter, who was having great fun testing every boundary and rule we had ever made. (Just a wee bit frustrating.)

Maia knew about good and bad decisions, and the rewards or consequences that followed each. She had her warning, time-out, and was headed for bed, early, which was awful to her at the time. Daddy getting home and dinnertime were fast approaching, and it was time to pick up the toys. Only she had other ideas.

Jumping on our chaise lounge was far more entertaining than picking up baby dolls, dinosaurs, and books. Who was I to tell her it was time to pick up! Our conversation went something like this.

“Sweet pea, it’s time to clean up.”  I said, straightening the couch.

Maia, complete with her water-spout ponytail bobbing on top of her head, replied by smiling and continuing to jump.

I stepped closer to her. “Come on. No more jumping. Let’s go.”

Maia stopped, laughed, and began jumping again.

“Maia, now. Time to pick up.” I began deep calming breaths. (How much more was this kid, after all the consequences she had been given, going to disobey?)

She stopped jumping, placed her fist on her hip, looked into my eyes, and said, “Mom, just wait a cotton candy minute!”

Now, I had a tough decision to make, laugh or discipline. It was apparent she needed a consequence for being disrespectful, however, in that moment, I couldn’t help it; I turned my back and laughter burst forth. And Maia, well, she stopped jumping and stood, shocked.

In an instant the frustration of the day vanished. I scooped her up, and felt her warm little arms wrap around my neck. (Best.feeling.ever.) We had a talk about our day. About good decisions, bad decisions, and that she still had to go to bed early.

I truly believe God used this adorable little girl to remind me that He’s got a great sense of humor.

Nehemiah 8:10 says “The joy of the Lord is your strength.”

We can choose to cling to our frustration and problems, or to embrace the joy that He wants us to have. Not only does His joy help you through the difficult times, it can literally make you happy in the midst of them.

FYI…be careful what you say, those words might get turned back on you.

Your turn to Shed Your Light below…

Have you had any cotton candy moments?

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

2 thoughts on “Cotton Candy Minutes

  1. Great story ! thanks. I have one that’s maybe in the “Kid’s say the darndest things” category.
    My 3 year old daughter and I were shopping at Daytons department store at Southdale. Or maybe just walking through, not sure I could afford Daytons back then!
    We entered an empty elevator and stood side by side holding hands. The view from beyond the doors was the ladies clothing department. Racks, manaquins, shelves etc.
    The doors shut and we rode quietly up- 2 floors. When the door opened, she squeezed my hand and her body jumped a bit then she yelled;”How’d they do that?” her face reaching toward the furniture department displays she was staring at.
    I had to laugh! Try to explain an elevator to a 3 year old. I still chuckle sometimes when riding on one. We rode several more that day just to
    help her get the idea.

    • Rebecca says:

      I will never be able to ride an elevator again without thinking about your story, Curt! I love how kids experience the world. We could learn a lot from them, couldn’t we?

Shed Your Light

