Dodging Bullets: a skill every writer needs

Posted by: Rebecca.

You know you’re a writer when…you realize the skill of dodging bullets isn’t just for cowboys and

bulletsTV FBI agents anymore, it’s also for the VP in charge of all things homemaker who’s writing a speculative fiction series, and attempting to live life to the fullest.

I was in the middle of writing an intense scene for my character Unknown, when our middle daughter began screaming, “Let me out!” So, like any good parent, I went to investigate.

I couldn’t help but smile when I saw that our youngest, her brother, had locked her in a bedroom, and wasn’t going to let her out until she apologized for their latest “confrontation”. She bumped him while doing a cartwheel. (Ouch!) About the same time I was taking statements from both parties, our dog, Buddy, began throwing up in our entry way (Sorry TMI), and my business phone began to ring.

Now, I’ve got two upset kids, an awful mess to clean up, a waiting customer, and the inspiration for that half written scene is fading…fast.

Just like other SHM’s out there, I’m constantly multi-tasking, and wishing I had four more arms. I’ll give myself a little credit…I do manage to get quite a bit done. On this particular day, however, I had to stop and ask myself, is all the busyness worth it? Work, business, folding the laundry. (All the clothes get unfolded anyways, right?) Am I busy doing the right stuff?

While talking with other friends, I realized I’m not the only one trying to navigate my way through this fast-paced world, and continue to be an invested parent.

How do I handle it all? By setting it all aside for a moment, and hugging my kids. Then, I remind myself to take a deep breath, that I’m not Wonder Woman, and repeat “I can do all things” 500 times.  I have faith that God will help me, and I’ve never been disappointed.

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

 What bullets are you dodging and how do you handle them?

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

