High-heels, Mt. Everest, and a writer’s conference

Posted by: Rebecca.

shoes1You know you’re a writer when…you can write a 70,000 word book, but writing a short bio about yourself for your one-sheet for a writer’s conference is like climbing Mt Everest in a mini-skirt with high heels on. (The ultimate experience, complete with tests in endurance and how to face challenges.) It may not be a very becoming sight, but I’ve slipped off my shoes… 

and I’m learning to navigate my way up that mountain, not only with the creative aspects and the craft of writing, but the business side as well. Wow, it’s a lot more than writing a story.

What have I learned? Let’s begin with needing to have a great idea for my book. Though the general idea may not be completely new, there are plenty of books about time travelers, I’ve found a creative spin for the main character of my series, and his journey. That spin makes my time traveler, other characters, and series, unique and my own.

Next, I spent the better portion of a year listening to all of the voices in my head and writing the first draft. Hours and hours of research, including interviews to ensure I had details correct. (It may be fiction, but I want it to be believable.) Hours and hours of brainstorming, writing, editing, and revising. All to arrive at having a draft I feel is ready for one last nit-pick and beginning the pitching/query process. (Are you exhausted yet?)

I’m attending Realm Makers Writing Conference in a couple weeks, and began preparations for it a few months ago, right after I registered. Then I went on a journey of reading everything I could on one-sheets, (ugh, which means writing a bio), pitching to an agent or editor, having a business card I could hand out (just in case), and building a platform via the spaghetti junction called Social Media.

I found myself with nine versions of a one-sheet, each arranged differently, without a bio. Seriously, my BFF, Bridgett Powers laughed at me, then sent me text message hugs. (Shameless plug: check her out at www.bridgettpowers.com)

The first version of my bio I sent her went something like this: “Rebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés, dodge bullets, and consume mass amounts of coffee. And Blah blah blah…I have no idea what to write.”

It’s hard to write about yourself. What would someone really want to know about little, not too old, me? I’m thankful for a supportive family and an incredible best friend who will cheer me on and pray with me when I’m not sure what direction to take. (God always comes through!)

A really good checklist helps too. First three chapters ready, check. One-sheet ready, check. Registration and plane ticket, check. One page synopsis (my current WIP–#Icandothis).

 

What mountains are you climbing, and how did you gear up for the hike?

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

