“Quit” & 5 other words on my family’s Naughty Word List.

Posted by: Rebecca.

Are you close to giving up? On yourself or someone else? On a dream? Well, before you do…let me introduce you to our family’s naughty word list.

The other evening, my husband showed our kids and me a video that’s been going around Facebook. It featured a young man playing a keyboard. What’s amazing is that he has no hands, and plays beautifully.

It was a teachable moment for our kids, and I ended up being the one who needed the lesson. I’ve been in a little bit of a funk lately. I’ve felt overwhelmed, and discouragement has been trying to creep in. Let’s just say, I was having 3-cup-of-coffee days way too often. (A week of cold, rainy days, and no running, didn’t help.) I really wanted to, shh…quit a few things.

On this particular evening, I was in the middle of editing a scene in my book, and it was not coming together the way I wanted. So, my husband’s timing was perfect. As I sat on the couch, peering around my son’s head, watching this young Naughty List Signman play the piano, I had a Mommy light bulb moment. My attitude was awful, and I was guilty of entertaining words on the Naughty List. Not acceptable.

Our naughty list includes words like “quit”, “never”, “can’t”, “won’t”, even the phrase’s “too hard” and “give up”. These are attitudes we do not want our family to adopt. We fight them and keep each other accountable. If you set a goal, you CAN achieve it. (Even when it feels impossible.) A lot of times, it’s our attitude that stops us.

Galatians 6:9 says, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest, if we do not give up.”  In other words, it can’t not happen!

How easy would it have been for the young man in the video to quit, give up, or not even try? Some people may even think that would be acceptable due to his physical limitations. But, he didn’t. He obviously tried. He kept pursuing. He kept practicing. Now over 9,000 people have watched his video. If he can accomplish that, who am I to quit or give up on anything?

It’s easy to get discouraged and give up, but the reward of persistence and hard work is always worth it. I don’t want to be guilty of using the Naughty Word List. (Ever.)

Stop back on Thursday to see the video mentioned above.

Do you have a naughty list? What’s on it?

About the author:

RebeccaRebecca Bergren is a writer with the ability to redefine clichés and travel through time with the mysterious, quirky cast of her novels. Life’s lessons have also inspired her to weave a message of hope and God’s restoration power into her heartwarming screenplays and humorous short pieces.

Rebecca is a member of ACFW, MyBookTherapy, Write Now Writers’ Group, and Writing Craft Girls critique circle. She lives in Minnesota with one fabulous man, three spunky kids, and a marshmallow-eating Labrador.

 

About Rebecca

Novelist, screenwriter, devourer of books, homeschool mom

Shed Your Light

