6 Books I Can’t Wait to Read

a.k.a. Treasures from Realm Makers

Tip to self: when packing for the next Realm Makers conference, bring an extra suitcase.

IMG_0129One of the most exciting items in the 2013 Realm Makers schedule of events was the joint book signing. Attendees had the opportunity to purchase books by their fellow participants or workshop presenters, then interact with these authors and have their books signed.

For some of us, this presented quite the fan moment. (I even have pictures with several literary stars.)

For a peak inside my literary treasure chest, a little insight into some of the topics covered at the conference, and a book review preview… 

First, I feel it necessary to apologize for the delay in this update. It’s nearly two weeks late. In my defense, I’ve been mired in what my brother once termed “an energy crisis”. I’d rather chalk it up to inspiration overload and move on.

Now, for the fun stuff.

IMG_0095Rebecca P. Minor, chief organizer of Realm Makers, is author of several books, including Curse Bearer. Thank you, Becky, for the time, hard work, and expense you’ve invested in this monumental event!

IMG_0094Kathy Tyers, author of the Firebird trilogy, among other works, presented a session on writhing for established franchises based on her experiences as author of two novels set in the Star Wars universe.

IMG_0093Bestselling author Bryan Davis, whose book Dragons in Our Midst I reviewed several weeks ago, presented a workshop outlining the hero’s journey. It would be difficult to choose a favorite session, but this one would certainly be in the running. I look forward to reviewing his Eye of the Oracle and its sequel which he graciously signed for me, Enoch’s Ghost.

IMG_0096Sci-fi and fantasy author L. B. Graham discussed the impact of worldview on our fiction. Naturally, I gravitated to his fantasy novel Beyond the Summerland.

IMG_0097One of the highlights for me was listening to Robert Teskillard describe how he forged the sword which appears on the cover of his novel Merlin’s Blade. After researching sword making for a scene in my second book, I was thrilled to meet someone who had actually done this. (Yes, the sword I’m holding in the photo is the actual blade on the book cover.) Then, I was even more Merlin's Sworddelighted to discover that, like me and one of my main characters, the protagonist of this book lives with impaired vision! This shot Merlin’s Blade to the top of my to-read list.

And finally, I was blessed to win an advance reader copy of Memory’s Door by James L. Rubart at our costume banquet. Sadly, the author was not in attendance. I’d read the first installment in this series, Soul’s Gate, as well as his novel Rooms.

Stay tuned for reviews of these and other books coming to a Fantasy Friday near you!

What’s at the top of your to-read list?

About Bridgett

fantasy novelist ~ picture book and short story author ~ freelance editor ~ writing coach

Shed Your Light

