Dental Derail

Life has a way of pushing our best plans off track.

Recently, I’ve been led to blog about a particular theme each week. Monday evening, I was happily taking notes on posts i’d planned to publish for the next few days. This was going to be a fun subject for me, and I couldn’t wait to discover whether readers would enjoy it as much.

A third molar.

No, this isn't my tooth!

Suddenly, a broken tooth brought my train of thought to a screeching stop.

Pain can make concentration about as easy as pulling teeth. Or, in my case, it can make having a tooth pulled the focus of all your concentration.

My tooth wasn’t alone in its pain party. the next three teeth and that whole side of my head joined the festivities. I think I prayed every way I knew, that night, for healing and pain relief. Finally, the intensity died down and I was able to sleep. 

The next morning, as I was searching for the number to the dentist, I asked God to remind me of a Scripture I could stand in faith on while going through this. I figured it would be something about healing or His desire to deliver us from suffering. Here’s what first popped into my mind:

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NIV)

Give thanks? Really?

I was in pain. The pain meds were making me sleepy and loopy. I couldn’t get the problem fixed for another day-and-a-half. I didn’t feel very thankful. But, God knows what He’s doing, right?

So, determined to follow His guidance, I started searching my heart for something, anything, I could be thankful for — in this current situation. It was a bit like searching your entire house for something you’ve lost and need right away, including digging through the attic and basement.

Here’s what I found:

  • I’m thankful God lessened the pain, so it isn’t as severe as it was at first.
  • I’m thankful I live in a country (and century) in which dental care is an option
  • I’m thankful I didn’t have to wait longer for an appointment
  • I’m thankful for the people who invented pain medication
  • I’m thankful God has this runaway train in His hands. He’ll get it back on track, running better than ever.

There are many other things I could list, but those are the big ones that came across my fuzzy mind.

Then, I had one clear thought. If I can’t concentrate on blogging about my chosen subject, I’ll blog about what I am concentrating on. Thus…this post.

As I’m writing this, I’m thankful to report the tooth is out. I’m still groggy, but on the mend. This dental visit was, in fact, the most pleasant experience I’ve ever had at a dentist’s office. I didn’t feel a thing.

And my fun blog theme? We’ll get to that next week. Unless God has other plans.

Have you given thanks in a bad circumstance?

About Bridgett

fantasy novelist ~ picture book and short story author ~ freelance editor ~ writing coach

Shed Your Light

