In the spirit of this week’s topic, reflection, here is an excerpt from my not-yet-published novel.

From: Keeper of Shadows, Bringer of Light (working title). Chapter 14: Sir Fizzil 

“Fear not to keep company with her, knight,” said Reina. “There is more magic at work in you than in her.”

“You dare accuse me! I am no sorcerer.”

“Precisely.”

Silence stretched out like unfurling wings.

“I know what I saw,” Sir Brennus said at last.

“You saw what others cannot,” said Reina. “‘Tis a precious gift, your gift of sight. You must open your heart to recognize what it is you see.”

Once again, long silence claimed him. When he spoke, his tone was unreadable. “What was it, then?”

“What you saw was…a mere reflection.”

“That was no reflection. She lit that fire…without flint or coals. There was no glass, steel or water nearby to reflect anything.”

“Not that kind of reflection,” Reina said. “It is she who is the mirror, reflecting a power far greater than mere magic, far greater than all of us.”

“What power?”

“Her King.”

 Comments, thoughts, and critiques welcome!

Novel Excerpt — on Reflection

About Bridgett

fantasy novelist ~ picture book and short story author ~ freelance editor ~ writing coach

6 thoughts on “Novel Excerpt — on Reflection

  1. Donna says:

    Freakin’ awesome!!!!! I can’t wait for everyone to be able to read the entire book!!!!

  2. Dee jeansonne says:

    When is this going to be complete? Are you teasing us! Sign me up for a copy! Good work sweetie!

    • Bridgett says:

      Thanks, Dee! I guess that was a bit of a teaser. Well, it fit my latest topic so perfectly, I couldn’t resist. The novel is complete, I’m narrowing my search for an agent. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. Gretchen Parent says:

    Gave me goosebumps, Bridgett! Very beautifully worded, mysterious and powerful. I want to be a mirror reflectng my King!!

    • Bridgett says:

      Thanks, Gretchen! You already are a mirror. I’ve seen you reflect Him in your words and actions. I can’t wait to share this whole story with you! You are a blessing.

Shed Your Light

