Tribute to Mom

It may be cliche to say that no words can describe who my mother is to me, no song can express the emotions her name awakens in my heart, no painting can capture the beauty of her spirit. But, there you have it. Still, the writer in me had to try.

Here, in the words of the song that fits her best and in a few of my own, is a portrait of the greatest blessing God gave me besides His son, my mom.

Mom,

When i was learning to walk, afraid, crying, reaching out, you had the courage to step back and make me stand on my own. Yet, you stood beside me with every step. Thank you.

You described the world in terms my vision could perceive. Thank you.

When objects, goals, or dreams seemed too high (which was often, since I’m only 4’11″), you didn’t stretch out your long arms and pull them down to me. You gave me a boost so I could reach them. Thank you.

You’ve cheered the loudest, hugged the longest, listened to and cherishes my deepest or silliest thoughts. You lock away all my secrets, good or otherwise. You were my first and eternal BFF. Thank you.

When illness stole my strength to stand, you gave me yours to lean upon. Thank you.

When all the voices in my life screamed with a thousand reasons, “You can’t!”, you silenced them with the Voice of Truth, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Thank you.

On my darkest day, when everything—my dreams, calling, health, friendships, identity, achievements, everything—was shattered, you called my name and held the Light of God high, so I would know you were both still with me. Thank you.

You saw in me what I could not, then described it in hopes I might see it too. Thank you.

When I heard the call to fly, you breathed the encouragement that still holds me aloft. Thank you

God can shine through this cracked lantern, because you ignited the flame.

Thank you!

Tell us about your awesome mom.

About Bridgett Powers

fantasy novelist ~ picture book and short story author ~ freelance editor ~ writing coach

3 thoughts on “Tribute to Mom

  1. Donna says:

    What a beautiful tribute! You are a lucky person to have such a beautiful mom! Love you both!

  2. Wayne says:

    What a special tribute to your mom.

Shed Your Light

