We’re walking along through life, minding our own business. Then, one day, we realize we’ve stumbled into a rut we never noticed and gotten stuck. How did we fall in? And, how do we get out? 

Maybe we just need a little more Light.

Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ. “Wake up from your sleep, Climb out of your coffins; Christ will show you the light!” So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get.

— Ephesians 5:13-15 (MSG)

What do you do to get out of a rut?

Revealing the Ruts

About Bridgett Powers

fantasy novelist ~ picture book and short story author ~ freelance editor ~ writing coach

2 thoughts on “Revealing the Ruts

  1. Interesting question. I think my answer changes depending on the type of rut that I am in. For example, I often find myself in a “rut of rumination,” when I cannot seem to escape endless processing and speculating in my mind. In that rut I need to “work my way out” with a check list of things that inevitably build while I am ruminating. So, not the “useless work” that Eph 5 speaks about. Other times my rut is busy work, and my soul seems tired from a lack of rest. In that case either “mindless” work or a getaway seems to work best. Thanks for sharing.

    • Bridgett says:

      Excellent comments, Jonathan. Thank you for pointing out those distinctions, the different types of ruts and different types of work. With the light of God’s word and direction of the Holy Spirit, we can tell the difference. Then, what work we do will prosper, for us and for others.

Shed Your Light

